587,302 active members*
3,318 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Events, Product Announcements Etc > Want To Buy...Need help! > Hello new here. Want to buy a laser cutter

Hello new here. Want to buy a laser cutter

Hello. I am a avid car modeler, resin caster and train enthusiast. I also enjoy woodworking. My wife is into dollhouses and I am like wise into scale dioramas. I recently became unemployed like millions of others across our nation. I am thinking about becomeing self employed and looking at the possabilities of a table top laser cutter. My idea is to be able to cut out both balsa wood projects for doll houses as well as plastic (styrene) projects like diorama building kits, as well as smaller diorama objects like say coolers. Also interested in making train building kits. On a side note, also interested in engraving items as well. I am wanting to find a machine that can cut and engrave, nothing too think, 1/8" thick styrene at most for cutting. I am interested in a table top style machine and have a budget of under $3,000. What would you guys recomend for a good starting machine? Thank you. Jody

With a budget of less than $3k, you are not going to find much. Even the cheapest Chinese laser will cost you more than that, and I wouldn't recommend going that route even if you could afford it - they are just too troublesome and unreliable.

You could build your own, but that entails an entirely new set of complications, but it would probably fit into your budget. There is another thread I just read about a person building a fairly large laser with a budget of about $2,500. I don't think he'll stay within the budget because of the size of his machine, but for a desktop machine you may be able to make it work.