587,202 active members*
3,092 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

G540 debug problem

Let me start by saying I'm new to this stuff and just getting my first project together. It's an X - Y table with the following:

KL23H284-35-4B Motors
    KL-350-48 48V/7.3A Power Supply
    G540 Drive
    Mach3 Software

I'm having trouble with getting my table to move correctly. The problem is sometimes the X & Y move and sometimes they don't. They never fail to jog or home correctly - only when I'm running a program. For example, if I try to cut a square, it may start out cutting in the X direction fine, then when it gets to the Y move, it sometimes moves, sometimes don't, and sometimes after it's supposed to be halfway through the cut it will start to move. Then the same behavior on the X. All the while, the digits on Mach's DRO are clicking off as if it should be moving. I've tried feed rates of 2 -6 inches per minute and this happens even if cutting air. I added 2 micro seconds to the step with no appreciable improvement. I don't think it's cable connections otherwise it wouldn't jog and home correctly as it does.

I'm not real tech savy so only thing I know to try is maybe a different parallel cable connecting the G540 to the computer. Any other suggestions GREATLY appreciated.

Oh two other things. I tried changing the X output pins and run it on the Z driver and got the same results. And I also noticed the G540 was warm. Am I doing something to over heat it?

Thought of something else. Computer:

Dell 2350 with 1.8 GHz Processor and 512 Ram. I installed a separate video card last weekend and turned off the onboard driver.

Are the steppers making any noises when they should be turning? If so, you may need to reduce the acceleration or speed in Mach. Unless you have a binding issue you should be able to get at least 100ipm out of those motors, if not more. I get over 120 out of mine and I am using a 24v psu.