587,754 active members*
3,039 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Fixture/Jig Design

I'm a newbie and just getting to the point of breaking end mills on my machine.

Anyway... looking ahead to the parts I want to cut, I'm thinking that fixturing and jig work is going to be important in my part design. Is there any good online references for jig strategy?

Thinking about fixturing and how the parts will be made before starting into the detailed design is a very good idea; almost revolutionary. Now if you tell us you are an engineer you will no doubt be responsible for numerous heart attacks.

Not that I have anything against engineers but so often how something is made is left until the very last thing considered.

Now having avoided answering your question I will get serious and say I do not know of any online source that will give you suggestions on fixturing. This question has come up several times and I cannot recall anyone providing any links.

When you have some preliminary ideas post more questions with pictures and you will likely get specific suggestions.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

kevperro, you can go to Google Book Search and download PDF's of jig and fixture design books up through the 1920's. The concepts will not have changed radically since then.

Randy

Quote Originally Posted by Geof View Post
    Thinking about fixturing and how the parts will be made before starting into the detailed design is a very good idea; almost revolutionary. Now if you tell us you are an engineer you will no doubt be responsible for numerous heart attacks.

Not that I have anything against engineers but so often how something is made is left until the very last thing considered.