587,214 active members*
3,714 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Fanuc 6M model D !

Hi,

I'm new in CNC world, my only experience is that I built a simple DIY router and controlled by MACH3 a year ago. that's it.
    Just started reading "CNC Programing Handbook".

Now in front of me an old machine. system 6M model D.
    The main problem is there are NO MANUALS !!! (operator, maintenance, programing...etc) I don't even know how many of them!

I'm temporarily using "FANUC OI-MC PARAMETER MANUAL" to get the alarm list, although some are not included.
    Wish if you could paste links about different types of Fanuc models and systems ^^" .

First: Anybody has the manuals scanned in PDF? or any alternatives ?
    (P.S. : No Fanuc branch here)

Also, I need to get the parameters, specifications and any other important data from the machine as a back-up in case of anything.

Second: I didn't know how to program it to recognize tools offsets and Z, some G-codes are not recognized because the machine is too old.(No manuals ).

Third: How can I connect it to a PC and download a G-coded program instead of writing it in [EDIT]?any hardware needed beside the PC?

Found some good posts from users like "A the man", "fordav11" and many others.
    Many other questions in the way ^_^
    Sorry for my bad English, not my native.

Thanx

-FOX

The RS232 posts in this forum for Fanuc machines are fairly universal across the entire Fanuc range. So if you read a few of the RS232 transfer posts you will know more about what is required.
    you can connect the machine via a standard RS232 cable wired like this....
    Machinery RS232 communications settings for CNC controls including fanuc and mitsubishi
    when I say 'standard' I mean a standard CNC transfer cable like the one in the above link not a PC type serial cable.

First you need to check the parameters and see what they are set to.