587,655 active members*
5,047 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Epoxy Granite > Epoxy-Granite machine bases (was Polymer concrete frame?)
Page 194 of 220 94144184192193194195196204
Results 3,861 to 3,880 of 5052

Hybrid View

Quote Originally Posted by castinite View Post
    It is good to discuss theoretical castings, but I have been casting real parts for over 20 years, using a formula I developed. We cast a 18" diameter, 270 deg drum, to .001 ID TIR (AS CAST). We cast a 70,000 lb CNC machining center using a low cost wood mold, and routinely cast grinding machine bases, 4,000 lb to 7,000, using low cost composite molds.

We cast chemical pump bases flat to .002"/36", using wood molds and can cast parts flat to.0005"/36" using wood molds. Our bases are used for a high speed printing machine, replacing a steel weldment, at 50% of the weldment cost. Delivey of a finished base is days, they do not need to be painted and the virbation dampening allows the printer to run faster with better registration.

EG offers a lot of real advantages over other materials, if you know how to do it. If you don't, the results can be bases that never cure or the cure too fast creating air pockets. It is easy to make bad parts.

We do sell the mix for anyone who wants to cast thier own parts.
    Can you please post some pics of the bases you have cast, the problem i have come to know is the availability of materials in my country eg. zeospheres, proper resins & small even aggregates. Do you use vibration setting to release air pockets after casting.

Hi Castinette

The green grinder casting is interesting….. Particularly the cast in steel ways and the rod or cable ends with nuts. They appear to be the same as those used in pre stressed concrete. Were they post tensioned after the casting had set as is the usual practice?

There is a good discussion of the process here for those that are interested.