587,098 active members*
5,801 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Endmill runout

Wondering what everyone thinks is an acceptable amount or runout for a 1/4" dia endmill. Is there a standard way to measure runout on an endmill? Does one just check the highpoints on the flutes? the bottom of the shaft before the flutes start? etc.

I ebay'd some endmills for next to nothing but alot of them seem to have a fair bit of runout. Like a hundredth measured an inch from the end of the collet on the shaft. Is it a mistake to assume that the shaft should be straight an circular, after all as long as the flutes are in line with the part of the shaft thats in the collet what does the accuracy of where im measuring matter? Anyways, I'm just a newbie to this and hopefully some of this will make sense to someone more experienced.

Also, I checked the runout on on the collets, its not perfect but its decent enough that its not the cause of all that wobble in the endmills.

Usually this is much worse on resharpend endmills.
    Makes it harder to measure the dia. a endmill will cut.
    It also shortens the lifespan of the endmill because only
    one of the flutes will see most of the cutting and become
    dull much sooner.

The best method is to make test cuts and measure the cut geometry.
    High precision parts should always be cut with a little stock and measured and then "sneak" up on the finished size very carefully and slowly with repeated measuring.
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

I would say that .001 is definately too much runout, I have not measured my own personal runout on my machine, something I should do sometime. But I think it should be well under that.

Jon

I wouldn't call .100 run-out I would call it bent

If you must use that cutter you can rotate the cutter in the collet 90 degrees at a time and re-check the runout in an attempt to average out the error.