587,513 active members*
3,048 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Drill press, centering holes in round stock

Drill press, centering holes in round stock

This is a drill press question, excuse my ignorance as I am pretty new to all of this. I picked up a micro lathe and a drill press not to long ago to make some hobby parts and other misc crap. Im mostly using smaller diameter round rods, 1/4, 3/8 ect, and anything from 1/16 - #29 drill bits, sometimes tapped sometimes not.

After a lot of trial, a lot of error, and even some luck once in a while Im hoping to get a little guidance here. My problem is getting my holes centered when I drill thru the width of the round rods. I am using a vise and a center drill to start the hole but eyeballing the center isnt working out very well. They look center when I start the hole but they usually come out angled.

Is there a general rule of thumb, a tool or gauge, or perhaps a way to make a jig in order keep my holes centered and perpendicular with round stock?

Any help on this would be very much appreciated.
    Cheers
    Zee

I'm assuming your rod is lengthwise left to right in the vise.

Without the spindle running bring your drill down to the stock and stick something like a microscope slide or a flat shim between your part and the tool (at right angles to your rod). Press the drill against the microscope slide. If the end of the microscope slide facing you is high, then your drill is too far away from you. Move the drill untill the microscope slide is parallell to the floor. You are now dead centre to the rod axis.

Now... get an end mill (like a drill but flat at the bottom) smaller diameter than the hole you want to drill. Milll a little flat on the rod with the end mill- this will stop your drill wandering. Stick the drill back in and drill away!