587,487 active members*
3,531 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Manufacturing Processes > Safety Zone > do enclosures need to be constantly vacuumed?

do enclosures need to be constantly vacuumed?

I’m sorry if this doesn’t make sense as English is no my first language :/, Im a newbie and Im building an enclosure for my http://www.zenbotcnc.com/all-products/zenbot-1216-cnc-router to keep dust and noise under control as I live in a small apartment, the problem I have is that I can’t have my cnc machine and my dust collector (something like http://www.amazon.com/SHOP-FOX-W1727-Dust-Collector/dp/B001R23T44/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1357142245&sr=8-2&keywords=shop+dust+collector ) running at the same time, but common sense is telling me that enclosing the cnc machine without constantly pulling dust out will kill it eventually, can anyone please shed some light on this? As what I doing now without the enclosure is let her make her mess and clean afterwards but that approach is no go anymore.
    Thanks a lot guys!

Cj

What is the reason for not running at the same time, power or noise?
    If noise issue, you could make a soundproof cover for the motor maybe?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

thanks for you reply Al!!

well the reason is power... every time I try to run them together the main building breaker trips (if there are others using high voltage appliances ) annoying my neighbors, while damaging the work piece something that I don't really want to happen

I work with wood and doing light passes so my debris are really, really small or
    dust.

Sound proof cover? I could make use of that for sure! anything that keeps noise levels down is really appreciated as I have my small cnc in a room of my small apartment! any schematics around here?

thank you so much for your help Al.

Cj