587,787 active members*
2,528 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

communication HL-2 lathe

I am a first year teacher and seem to have a.... LARGE problem. My shop is equipped with a HAAS HL-2 lathe. Since setting foot in the shop nearly two months ago, the students and I have made every attempt to send files to the lathe with no luck. The previous instructor had no problems with the machine.

We have used different computers.
    We have tested the communication cable.
    We have the settings on the sending computer matching the lathe.

we prepare the lathe to receive,,,, send the file.... the lathe screen maintains a "waiting" command on the bottom of the screen.

please submit any questions, suggestions, or otherwise. To hire someone to come and diagnose it is at least $1k..... because of our loacation. I am willing to try nearly anything...

THANKS!

You wouldn't be using the computer printer port as a comm port, would you?

Has the machine ever had a service technician working on it between the time the previous instructor was on the scene, before you arrived? Has anyone fiddled with the parameter settings? I did have comm trouble on my Haas mill, but this occurred after a major upgrade, including some new circuit boards, and there was a particular parameter setting that was not in the regular comm setting area, that had to be altered. I would not think this necessary in your machine's case, unless a major service had occurred.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

The machine was not touched over the summer. I have had several students who ran the machine day in and out try to communicate to the lathe. We are using the correct port. We have tried other working computers. No luck. I will look over all the parameters once again.... in a few hours when i wake up.

051011-0758 EST USA

allen d: