587,481 active members*
2,934 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Cheapest, Wimpiest CNC capable of titanium?

Question Cheapest, Wimpiest CNC capable of titanium?

I am a hobbyist that wants to build a robot of my own design. It's nothing ambitious really, just a powered exoskeleton.

I am expecting to use steel at first, but probably titanium later to make this as light and strong as possible.

My equipment budget is not high. I have a lower middle class income, so I don't have a huge disposable budget.

It appears that in the long run for machining components for testing, it will cheaper for me to just buy my own CNC hardware and do it myself, rather than pay someone else to make one-off parts for me.

So, what is the cheapest, weakest, and wimpiest CNC mill and lathe that would be capable of machining titanium?

Is a Tormach PCNC about as low as I could expect to go to get the job done in any reasonable about of time?

Is there anything smaller and cheaper that would be capable of titanium?

Re: Cheapest, Wimpiest CNC capable of titanium?

does it have to be cnc? a decent bridgeport knee mill will cover all your basic milling, drilling, and tapping needs,

The difficulty is doing complex sculpted surfaces for compact structural designs. If all you are doing is simple plunge cuts or bevels, then yes, a basic machine tool is fine.

But once you start moving into complex curved surface geometry, it's beyond the ability of hand work. Trying to machine a spheroid surface by hand is basically impossible.

I suppose a halfway mark is an old used Bridgeport plus a CNC conversion.

You would also benefit from looking at used machines online - I have seen decent 3 axis VMC's for about 15K.

Tormach - yes. Will work fine.
    CNC refit - yes. Similar capacity in rigidity for common stuff.

Exceptionally rigid old cheap cnc machines exist.