587,834 active members*
4,957 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Can an X1 bore a deep 70mm dia hole in Al?
Page 1 of 3 123

Can an X1 bore a deep 70mm dia hole in Al?

Hi, I did a quick search, but I couldn't find an answer...

Is it possible to mill a 70mm diameter, 100mm deep hole in a block of Al (6082) with an X-1 sized mill?

I've never used a boring head before, but from what I have read, you have to start with a full depth pilot hole, and then bore it out slowly. Does this really mean than on an X-1 I'd have to bore up from a 10mm drilled hole to 70mm using the boring tool, adjusting it a tiny fraction of a mm per pass? Or can I get some sort of long endmill and just rough out the hole, and then just bore the last few passes for accuracy?

Thanks.

Do you have the stock motor?
    You should be able to use a 1/2" drill without an issue in aluminum. Drill that first, thats like 12.5mm.
    Then see if you can find a set of drills with a 1/2" shank but increase in increments of 1/16". Go as large as you can, upping 1/16" each time. 1/8" might be okay.

Then, bore. The X1 should be able to do it. Just be aware that you will need a good size boring bar to get that depth and keep rigidity. See if you can find something with 5/8" boring bars.

Also, remember that you will need to take smaller and smaller passes as your diameter increases. I hope you are patient.

It's not what the machine can or can't do, it's the amound of time it can do it in. On the smaller machines you'll have to take lighter cuts. The method described above is good. But as drills get larger they get longer and you'll run out of vertical height. So you may want some large endmills to plunge straight down with, but finding ones with like a 5/8 shank is not going to be easy probably and it is going to be expensive. You could CNC the thing and do the hole with like a 1/2" endmill.

Hi there,