587,129 active members*
3,048 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Buying 1st VMC

I'm looking for some advice on purchasing a vertical machining center. I am new to this field so any help you give will be greatly appreciated.

I will be drilling and tapping for the most part, with milling in the works some time down the road. We work with steel (HR) plate up to 2" thick and some structural steel (beams, channels) of various sizes.

What types of machines would you recommend for these applications?

Thanks

What size are your workpieces?

Down the road you will want to mill what material and what size?
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Smallest 1"x4"

Largest 24"x60"

Same for drilling and milling.

Thanks for the response.

The reason I asked about size is that Haas has gantry machines that are available with a 5000rpm spindle and do fine for drilling and tapping. If you are dealing with big pieces up to 6 feet by 12 feet and you are only drilling and tapping these machines may be the most cost effective approach. They are not suitable for milling steel unless you are happy taking very dainty cuts, they just do not have the rigidity. For true milling on steel you need a proper VMC and one that has a 60" capacity is quite big; I cannot really give any advice here.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Worst case 24" X 60" X 2" 800+lbs plus workholding probably 1,000 lbs. plus drilling thrust = ? makes for a pretty heavy table load. If you are going to do heavy milling cuts, the ballscrew/nut/servomotor are also going to be substantial as well. You are probably talking 50 taper or equivelant for spindle tooling. There are quite a few machines in that area. What are you looking at?
    DZASTR