587,427 active members*
6,687 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Bridge Series II CNC,Boss 6. Begging for Help

Bridge Series II CNC,Boss 6. Begging for Help

Hello CNC Zoners!! Sorry for the bad english. I'm new at CNC milling, so I beg for your help on this.
    I've recently bought an used Bridgeport Series II CNC, Boss 6, milling machine from a N-York used machinery dealer. (I'm from South America).
    Machine looks to be in very good conditions, but I couldn't make it run yet, because of voltage and cycles differences.
    The original values from the machines are: 230 volts, 3 phase, 60 Hz.
    Our local values are: 380 volts, 3 phase, but 50 Hz (South America).
    With voltage, everything is ok, because I could manage an AC-Transformer, but, PEOPLE, PLEASE, what do I do with the cycles -Hz- differences? (Bridge:60Hz; Mine:50 Hz)? This just in order to make the machine run with their original parameters. I think cycle differences will ruin boards among others. What should I do?
    A big hug from South America, Jerry7.

I have been doing some research for you. Since the internet spans the world, I have heard more about BOSS 6.1 machine which I have never seen in the US. Now I know why.
    Attached are the differences and the specification sheets on the BOSS 6 and 6.1 machines. In a nut shell the 6.1 were built as overseas machines and were built for 50 HZ. Note that the ZCK is different which is the clock board (makes sense) as well as the NTP which chews at the math.
    Have you ever heard of a motor generator unit?

George
    Attached Files Attached Files
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by machintek