587,213 active members*
3,196 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Bottom Up approach

Hi,

As a newbie, I'll probably ask for something very common: help to decide which mill should I buy (at least for now). I am also thinking about a cnc approach.

But this time I will try to do it from a bottom up approach. I need to make very small parts from metal (brass, 6061 maybe stainless steel). As you can see in the attached picture, is a little complex. It's quite small (about 20 mm) with 2 mm holes.

So, the question is: should I buy a small mill like a Proxxon MF70 or maybe a bigger like Sherline, X2 or a Proxxon FF400. Any advice here?

Sorry for my bad english

Best regards from Brazil,

Luis Carlos Silva
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails arm.JPG  

Hi Luis;

Your english is fine! Where abouts in Brazil are you?

As to your question I thing the missing element here is: how many do you expect to produce? For a part that small just aobut all of the mentioned manual mills should be able to handle the part. If you should happen to get to making the part out of stainless you do have to be more carefull about which unit you choose.

The problem with stainless is that you have to be able to run the spindle relatively slow and maintain a stiff feed rate. That might eliminate the Proxxon and maybe the Sherline especially if you expect production quanities.

If you are serious about CNC I cannot reccomend either machine. There are a couple of reasons the first of which is the ability to easily mount ball screws on the machine. The toher reasons is that for a given investment in CNC hardware you can easily drive a larger mill for about the same cost as you can a smaller one. At least when we are talking about going from Proxxon & Sherline mills to something like an X import. That is the X1, X2 and X3 series of mills from Sieg in China.