587,869 active members*
3,905 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Annular cutter grinding

Hello from Brisbane in Aus. I'm new at this so be kind. We are setting up to sharpen annular cutters as part of our service to customers. Can't find the golden key for the info box, or not much info about? Any info regarding setup of cutter to a datum point or center height prior to grinding would be appreciated.

Sharpening engraving bits on a tool grinder?

I would really like to find a tutorial for this as well. I picked up an old tool grinder that was solely designed to cut engraving cutters (V shaped tip) that are used for engraving and cutting wax models.

Can anyone help on where to find a tutorial on how to setup and grind the blanks to cut/sharpen 1/8 inch shaft, 15 degree(full), .005 thou tip cutters?

Thanks,
    Greg

I know what a Dbit grinder is, but what do you mean by an annular cutter?
    Are these the hollow multi-tooth cutters used like on a Rota Broach? to drill big diameter holes in plates?

Your Dbit grinder should have an instruction manual.
    It depends if the grinder has a collet-spindle that can be offset from the pivoting axis or not. A pivot axis allows you to sharpen a radius on the tip of the the tool &/or on the cutting corner if it can be offset.
    The clearance angle must usually be quite high just to be able to leave the cutting edge raised sufficiently above the root-round that is left behind.
    I used to make fancy form Dbits with offset radius & angle on the side, and THEN use a Nikon profile projector to measure exactly what resule I had, THEN use EzCam 2D to work out out what cutter path offset was reqd to CNC mill the result/profile I wanted.
    For simple engraving cutters for plastic just try maybe even as high as 40degrees clearance angle, then gently by hand, use a fine hone stone to remove the tiny sharp-pointed tip until you get the tip diameter that you need

Annular cutter grinding