586,133 active members*
2,692 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

NEW PATRIOT VFD

I've been corresponding with JT about the new machine for 2010. We are considering upgrading our units to VFD drives.
    For 2010 the machines have been re-designed
    1. Lathe and mill spindle motors are 3 phase Variable Frequency Drives
    2. All power feeds and threading are done by stepper motors- no more gearboxes
    3. Cross slide travel is increased to 12"
    By eliminating the gearboxes and the belt change mechanisms for the spindles, JT says over 300 parts and 100# have been removed from the machine.
    I believe the VFD drives can be controlled by Mach III input for speed changes on the fly as well.
    There are a bunch of other smaller changes too.
    Attached are a couple photos JT sent me.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails VFD 1.jpg   VFD 3.jpg   VFD 9.jpg  

That looks real nice. I called JT last month because when I was changing the change gears to change the feed rate the keyed sleeves basically crumbled in my hands. He said that that has been a problem in the past and if I send him the pieces he would make up some new ones for me, but I'm lazy and never did. I've got CNC, so I figured I'd just use the jog for power feed if I'm running manual, but I really like this set-up and would love to upgrade. Unfortunately, I can't really justify it right now.

Quote Originally Posted by instructor37 View Post
    I've been corresponding with JT about the new machine for 2010. We are considering upgrading our units to VFD drives.
    For 2010 the machines have been re-designed
    1. Lathe and mill spindle motors are 3 phase Variable Frequency Drives
    2. All power feeds and threading are done by stepper motors- no more gearboxes
    3. Cross slide travel is increased to 12"
    By eliminating the gearboxes and the belt change mechanisms for the spindles, JT says over 300 parts and 100# have been removed from the machine.