586,307 active members*
3,225 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Cutter Comp Question

For everything that I have made with our TM-2 so far, I have used in computer cutter comp.

I'm curious how cutter compensation relates to tools measured with the toolsetter.

Lets say I measure a .250" endmill and it comes out at .240". I understand that the computer driven cutter comp gives me .005 of stock uncut.

So now when I program with cutter comp and the tool is measured .240 does the haas just fix that?

I'm still learning, so these questions may be trivial.

Thanks

Tim

Program 1/4" standard like brand new endmill, and if the endmill is smaller from resharp then that can be done by cutter comp in the control.
    The best way to learn is trial error.

Comp is not going to fix your inside radii if they're not programmed, though. If you need a .125 radius and you've programmed your part to let the endmill create the radius by its size, (two intersecting lines) it won't put an arc in. You have to program an arc at the intersection so that the end mill will create the proper size radius. Just something to consider.

Quote Originally Posted by behindpropeller View Post
    For everything that I have made with our TM-2 so far, I have used in computer cutter comp.

I'm curious how cutter compensation relates to tools measured with the toolsetter.

Lets say I measure a .250" endmill and it comes out at .240". I understand that the computer driven cutter comp gives me .005 of stock uncut.

So now when I program with cutter comp and the tool is measured .240 does the haas just fix that?

I'm still learning, so these questions may be trivial.

Thanks

Tim
    Depending on what your making it is known that standard endmills are .001 to .002 undersized in diameter unless you buy NC Qualified.

IMPO I use a finish endmill to Interpolate an arc rather than using a to size endmill. Doing this you can adjust the Comp for tool wear and always be sure your radii are correct.