586,270 active members*
4,006 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 11 123

Yet Another 8020 CNC Build

Hi All,

I've been lurking here for almost a month now trying to learn everything I can about building a CNC router. I'm a newbie and know very little about building a CNC. Everything I know about CNCs came from a couple of books, the threads in this form and from Ahren of cncrouterparts.com. Ahren has been very helpful in answering questions I have.

So now I'm ready to start building one. So here goes:

- 8' x 5' built mainly from 8020 aluminum
    - Carriages & R&P from Ahren
    - Rack from Moore Gear
    - Rack clamps from Ahren
    - Cold-rolled steel from McMaster
    - GeckoDrive G540
    - 380 oz-in from Ahren and Keling
    - Power supply from Keling
    - 8-inch z-axis from K2CNC
    - Mach3 software
    - Haven't decided on cad/cam yet

I've attached pictures of the plan. I tried to upload a sketchup file (2.3M) but I keep getting upload errors.

1.jpg - The whole thing.

2.jpg - I'm recycling the support and legs from my existing workbench. The CNC will also double as my workbench.

3.jpg - Frame. The overall frame will be 3030. 1515s will be ued to support the table top (mdf).

4.jpg - X-Axis Drive - Will use R&P from Ahren. Driven on both sides.

5.jpg - Gantry - The verticals supports are 1530. All the rest are 3030.

6.jpg - Y-Axis Drive. Will use R&P from Ahren. Not sure if I really need the carriages at the bottom.

7.jpg - The z-axis will be mounted on the stock aluminum shown.

8.jpg - Closer view of the overall CNC.

Now, if only the weather will cooperate and warm up a bit so I can start. :-(

Comments and suggestions are solicited and very welcome!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.jpg   2.jpg   3.jpg   4.jpg  

5.jpg   6.jpg   7.jpg   8.jpg  

You'll need to support the sides somehow.
    And try zipping the Sketchup file and upload that.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html