586,389 active members*
3,298 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

mazak software/simulation

Hey all,

Firstly I'm very new to CNC machining, but recently got a job as labourer in an small engineering firm. i pretty much load the cnc's press start etc, unload.

my boss is currently trying to teach me to program the machines, and i'm slowly getting there.

what i want to know is, is there software availble to program from a pc, or load from cad software to the controller. i need practise programming and looking at some sort of simulation program as well. my boss is pretty old school, but willing to buy software at a reasonable price, not the 60k mazak wanted for their software.

the machines we are using are:
    - mazak intergrex 30 with mazatrol pc fusion 640t
    - mazak quickturn 35 with mazatrol cam 2T.

also being a newbie can someone explain the following acronyms

Cad/Cam
    G-Code

thanks

Dave

60K for Mazak software? What software did they quote you? A whole simulator unit? I'd get that requoted... somebody didn't understand something....

I assume you're programming/operating using Mazatrol? (conversational programming). There are a few platforms to help but none are necessarily "cheap" per se. Software such as Griffo Brothers (CamLink) and Solutionware (MazaCam).

As for the acronyms... there a few variations in use now but basically it's:

CAD = Computer Aided Design(or drafting, or drawing) ex: Pro-E, Solidworks, etc
    CAM = Computer Aided Machining (ex: MasterCam, Gibbs, SurfCam, etc)
    G-code = the codes used by the machine control to work the machine and build parts. Code is generated by a CAM system or can be handtyped...

If you're using the Mazatrol, you'll only see a small bit of G-code where you input for "G and M" on each unit operation or if you enter using "Manual Entry" key.