587,030 active members*
4,114 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hi and a couple questions....

Hi guys...I used to lurk here a couple years ago. I design assembly machines for a living and I've always been interested in machining. I've got some tools I'd like to make and a cnc mill should make that possible (along with a small Grizzly G0602 lathe...which I may end up cnc'ing...not sure yet)

I should be placing the order for my IH mill in cnc form this coming week..I had a very pleasant conversation with Tommy (super nice guy...learned alot and he answered all my stupid ?'s) and he said that there is an 8 week wait right now He said he just hired a couple people to help out and the wait shouldn't be 8 weeks but he basically won't commit to anything shorter right now.

Here's what I plan on ordering as far as upgrades~table extensions, 3hp VFD & wire in the 4th axis (that way I can just plug in the 4th axis when I get one instead of having to wire it) That's about all I can afford right now until work picks up and I get my OT back (40 hours seriously cuts into my play money LOL) I've already ordered some tooling from Glacern and I'm hoping to place a big order before Nov. 30th...

So finally here's my ?s'

1) Is what amp breaker should the mill be run off?

2) How does the mill come...I'd assume that it is in pieces and I will have o put it together. I'm hoping to drive out and pick the mill up. The wife's bro lives along the way and that way my shipping cost is $0 since it would be disguised as a family trip and the family budget would pay for it.

3) Would it be wise to epoxy granite the base & column right when I get it?

4) Should I be able to run a 3" Glacern Facemill on this mill with epoxy grante & with a 3HP VFD and not have an issue as long as I don't take too big of a cut?

Thanks in advance...

Quote Originally Posted by Shev View Post
    So finally here's my ?s'

1) Is what amp breaker should the mill be run off?