587,040 active members*
2,989 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > entry-level, semi-turnkey, for aluminum?

entry-level, semi-turnkey, for aluminum?

I'd like to make some custom model parts. I foresee working with woods, G10, Carbon Fiber 3K sheets, and aluminum. I'm handy with geometry, electronics, programming and simple mechanicals, but I'm not experienced with fabrication.

I have been looking at some of the "build your own" options, but I'd rather cut to the chase and get something a little more turnkey or at least all-parts-included so I can get busy with the model parts. So maybe there's a Linux/EMC2-based controller, all the steppers and table frame parts, and chips containment solution out there. I don't want to break the bank, either, but I know that being too cheap will cost more in the long run.

I saw the Probotix Fireball 90... that's the right price range and features but I don't think it's ready for cutting aluminum, and I haven't found enough testimonials from people using them.

Quote Originally Posted by halley View Post
    I'd like to make some custom model parts. I foresee working with woods, G10, Carbon Fiber 3K sheets, and aluminum. I'm handy with geometry, electronics, programming and simple mechanicals, but I'm not experienced with fabrication.

I have been looking at some of the "build your own" options, but I'd rather cut to the chase and get something a little more turnkey or at least all-parts-included so I can get busy with the model parts. So maybe there's a Linux/EMC2-based controller, all the steppers and table frame parts, and chips containment solution out there. I don't want to break the bank, either, but I know that being too cheap will cost more in the long run.