586,347 active members*
3,728 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    67

    Issues with cutter comp

    I know that this has been gone over before, I am trying to figure out why my machine does not recognize my cutter comp from mastercam X , what am i doing incorrectly

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    Can you post some simple code that has the problem?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    67
    I wrote a simple program
    Am I not seeing the problem

    N102 G0 G17 G40 G49 G80 G90
    ( 1/2 FLAT ENDMILL TOOL - 1 DIA. OFF. - 41 LEN. - 1 DIA. - .5 )
    N104 T1 M6
    N106 G0 G90 G54 X-1.8529 Y1.4482 S3056 M3
    N108 G43 H1 Z.25
    N110 Z.1
    N112 G1 Z-.125 F6.42
    N114 Y.9482 F24.45
    N116 G3 X-1.3529 Y.4482 R.5
    N118 G1 X-.0842
    N120 G2 X.1658 Y.1982 R.25
    N122 G1 Y-1.1597
    N124 G2 X-.0842 Y-1.4097 R.25
    N126 G1 X-2.6216
    N128 G2 X-2.8716 Y-1.1597 R.25
    N130 G1 Y.1982
    N132 G2 X-2.6216 Y.4482 R.25
    N134 G1 X-1.3529
    N136 G3 X-.8529 Y.9482 R.5
    N138 G1 Y1.4482
    N140 Z-.025 F6.42
    N142 G0 Z.25
    N144 M5
    N150 M30

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    Are you talking about length comp, G43?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    67
    The length in Z is good, my issue is with side compensation

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    You need to turn it on with a G41(left) or G42(right).
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1650
    THIS WOULD BE CORRECT ? RIGHT?

    N102 G0 G17 G40 G49 G80 G90
    ( 1/2 FLAT ENDMILL TOOL - 1 DIA. OFF. - 41 LEN. - 1 DIA. - .5 )
    N104 T1 M6
    N106 G0 G90 G54 X-1.8529 Y1.4482 S3056 M3
    N108 G43 H1 Z.25
    N110 Z.1
    N112 G1 G41 Z-.125 F6.42
    N114 Y.9482 F24.45
    N116 G3 X-1.3529 Y.4482 R.5
    N118 G1 X-.0842
    N120 G2 X.1658 Y.1982 R.25
    N122 G1 Y-1.1597
    N124 G2 X-.0842 Y-1.4097 R.25
    N126 G1 X-2.6216
    N128 G2 X-2.8716 Y-1.1597 R.25
    N130 G1 Y.1982
    N132 G2 X-2.6216 Y.4482 R.25
    N134 G1 X-1.3529
    N136 G3 X-.8529 Y.9482 R.5
    N138 G1 Y1.4482
    N140 G40 Z-.025 F6.42
    N142 G0 Z.25
    N144 M5
    N150 M30

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    586
    Generally, Cutter comp is applied with an XY non-cutting move, and deactivated with a non-cutting XY move. If you are programming using a tool centerline path, the comp distance needs to be greater than your anticipated first and cutting move, and the approach perpendicular to your first and last cutting move. Same, really, if you are using a tool edge path, but the anticipated offset will be at least the tool radius. Turning on and off as you have it may yield undesirable movement, like tool breakage or part gouging.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    67
    I am posting out of matercamX for the tormach and have the cutter comp turning on during the ramp in move, mastercamdoes not seem to want to put the g41 in,

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    586
    There's a Mastercam option there in your toolpath that asks Comp Control/control/wear/reverse wear. Try "wear" or "control"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    67
    the wear button works it generated the g41 code in the right places- thanks for walking me thru that

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    586
    Your welcome, and thanks for the feedback!

Similar Threads

  1. M2 cutter comp help
    By nlh in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 05:59 PM
  2. Cutter Comp Issues
    By PinMan in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-29-2009, 03:10 PM
  3. cutter comp issues
    By toolmanwaz in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 12:29 PM
  4. Cutter comp on an id hole< cutter diam.??
    By PaintItBlue in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-06-2008, 12:30 AM
  5. G17 to G18 Comp issues
    By ParkerMillguy in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2007, 12:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •