586,389 active members*
3,030 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Downdraft Table

Hello All...

I purchased my table without any way to manage the dust and smoke... I regret this now.

My table would be very easy to enclose the bottom area and duct it outside... but a couple of challenges I don't know how to deal with are:

1.) Even distribution of the downflow across the entire table
    - I don't want to have to cover unused areas.

2.) Collection of the debris so that it is not blown out into the environment (preferably with some type of "trap" instead of a filter).

---
    I look forward to any comments suggestions!!!

I have a 5x10 table and use a 2500 CFM cyclone filter and it does great. I do cover the open areas. As for distribution I just have a 10" pipe in one end sticks in about 4" and I have no problems.

The cyclone does a great job removing the dust.

I am a design Engineer and we manufacture industrial downdraft tables. The most effective method to get even velocity at the table top of your downdraft table is to provide a fairly high airflow which in turn will give you a high suction velocity across the table. In a few spots it maybe high and in other spots low. The location of your pick-up in the plenum box under the table is critical, I would locate the collar in the middle on the back of your table, this will give you the best chance of more of an even downdraft velocity.

So here is what I was thinking last night...

If I used a 16" duct for the air evacuation of the downdraft... that is 201 square inches of of area for the air to go thru the ducting... the obvious problem is that the table at 4' x 8' has 4,608 sqare inches of space to allow the suction to travel thru ... this is obviously going to leave several areas of the table with much less suction than the areas closest to the evacuation duct.

--