586,812 active members*
8,108 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Trying to learn!

Hi guys, I am new here as I just bought a Minitech Minimill/2. Serial number 10206. I'm guessing this machine is over 20 years old, but is in excallent condition! Of course it still has the old controller and the 150oz. round Slo/syn steppers. I am a patent attorney, not a cnc expert... so here I go with my questions:

1. I plugged the machine in, loaded Mach3 on it, and (shockingly) I was able to set the software up and even tune the steppers and was able to jog all three axis'... and even run one of the sample programs that came with Mach3. I still have a lot to learn about setting stops, limits, everything. At least I was able to get the mill working. This thing is built like a tank and I think it was only used to machine very soft materials in a medical R&D environment. Ok, I have read as much as I can find on this machine (I even got the original owner's manual that talks about running an old dos program). The built in controller and separate DC power supply are the originals, but they work. I plan on making items out of aluminum for a hobby. Are these steppers even close to being large enough to do this? Keep in mind that I do not particularly care if I have to take small cuts at the workpiece. Would I be better to throw the controllers and steppers in the trash and purchase a new controller and steppers? If so, which ones to buy? From what I have read, the Gecko 540 seems to be pretty good. Are there any steppers that will bolt right on?

2. What other kind of software do I need? I'm guessing a good CAD software package and a complementary CAM package. I have seen that a lot of people here use Meshcam for the CAD portion. What are most of you using? Also, I have researched many different kinds of CAD software but quite frankly I am overwhelmed and don't really understand what I need. And ideas? I am not Bill Gates, so I have to keep a dollar limit for my new hobby.