586,494 active members*
2,314 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > CamBam > Cambam not responding

Cambam not responding

Hi
    I'm new to CNC so I'm using Cambam to create text to engrave on aluminum plate and also I'm interested in engraving a pic on the same material.
    I have a dxf file that a friend made for me, from a pic I've worked. I am able to open it in Cambam, but at the moment I try to create a Gcode from it, Cambam stop working (Not responding) and I have to close it. I am using the free version 0.8.2.
    To create the Gcode I select the entire graphic, then go to CAM and select "Engrave"; then right-click on Machining from the tree and select "Create Gcode". At that point nothing will happen.
    Can somebodie please tell me what is that I'm missing or how to do it?
    Thanks al lot.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Hi Josh,

The dxf opened in cambam ok but when i tried to convert to polyline ( the outside of the face) cambam hung. When i treied the same thing in a little line near the ear it converted ok. I think it could be to do with the dxf. Autocad would not open it. At the end of the day post this issue to http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/ I am sure youy will get a quick and accurate response form iobulls (Andy) or someone more knowegable than myself.

Paul

Hello there!

This is quite a complicated drawing made up of many splines.
    Under Tools - Options, there is a setting called SplineToPolylineTolerance.
    Unfortunately in the free version, there is a bug where this setting is being ignored and a much lower tolerance is being used which causes the spline to be converted to an excessively large number of small segments. This takes ages and is why CamBam is not responding.

This bug was fixed in the plus versions of CamBam. I just opened your file in the latest 0.9.6e release and set
    SplineToPolylineTolerance=0.1. Generating the toolpath took a couple of minutes but worked fine.