586,299 active members*
3,832 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Rigid Coupling Vs. Flex Coupling

After much searching on the web and CnCZone I was unable to find the Pros and Cons of rigid/flex coupling.

Wikipedia says that "Flexible couplings are designed to transmit torque while permitting some radial and axial and angular misalignment". But what is meant by "misalignment". I would think that the rigid coupling would provide more accuracy. Is the error introduced by a flex coupling negligible or is it just accounted for in software.

The mechanics of CNC always get me stumped, seeing how I am a computer engineer, microelectronics are more my area.
    Thanks in advance …

Not sure what the protocol is on answering your own posts but here is the information i found on alignment of couplings. This diagram explains the need for flex couplings but I am still not sure what kind of error would be introduced.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Alignment.JPG  

You do not want to use spiral cut couplers. They can wind/unwind a bit which makes for poor accuracy

Rigid couplings usually imply that alignment is perfect or ideal, which it often is not.
    There are many types of couplings that are designed especially with CNC or accurate positioning in mind, some of the higher end ones are often out of practical reach for the
    DIY'er.
    One simple economic one is the Oldham coupling.
    One I have used with success is the Lovejoy Uniflex, this is essentially two opposite wound springs, one inside the other.
    http://www.lovejoy-inc.com/content.aspx?id=352
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Thanks Al_The_Man for your input. I was looking into the uniflex spring couplings (figure 1) and they seem quite expensive even for a DIY'er. The cheapest I found one was around $100 and that was the smallest one.