586,850 active members*
2,414 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

EMC and servos

So I have been doing a little bit of reading through the EMC documentation but I haven't really found an answer. The documentation basically addresses stepper configuration through the stepconf wizard but it doesn't really have any set-up information with regards to servo set-up. I am still very new to this so maybe the software portion is the same and everything is sorted in the drivers, but how do you set up a servo?

I assume you mean how do you set up servos software wise.
    First currently there is no configuration wizard like Stepconf for servos.
    So you would probably find a servo sample configuration that is close to what you want a tweak it.
    The one you choose is mostly dependent on what type of I/O card you want to use.
    As far as Tuning the sevo loop EMC uses PID with feed forward ability. You have to tune ther parameters by hand, though The AXIS GUI makes this easier to do.
    PID tuning is a large subject on it's own.
    Do you have more specific Questions?

Quote Originally Posted by chester88 View Post
    I assume you mean how do you set up servos software wise.
    First currently there is no configuration wizard like Stepconf for servos.
    So you would probably find a servo sample configuration that is close to what you want a tweak it.
    The one you choose is mostly dependent on what type of I/O card you want to use.
    As far as Tuning the sevo loop EMC uses PID with feed forward ability. You have to tune ther parameters by hand, though The AXIS GUI makes this easier to do.
    PID tuning is a large subject on it's own.
    Do you have more specific Questions?