586,305 active members*
3,664 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mini Lathe > CNC mini-lathe conversion help needed.

CNC mini-lathe conversion help needed.

Hello,

First; a little about me so you better understand where I coming from and may be able to asess my level of involvement with cnc equiptment. I'm Mike. I'm new here. I found out about this place from the rcgroups.com I have been programing and opperationg cnc's full time for about 6-7 years now. Have worked with several Mazak lathes, and currently a Komo Router.

I currently have a Grizzly Mill, have thought about getting the microkinetics complete cnc kit for that.

On to the task at hand. I just got a Grizzly mini-lathe and wish to convert it to cnc for making my own varoius r/c hobby parts with the assistance of a CAD/CAM software. I am very capable of making any parts I may need to fit motors/ball screws etc. but completely lack the knowlage and or experience in the electrical/electronics dept.

What type of motors do I need... stepper, or servo? and how big and what is the difference btw them? what encoders do I need for them? cables wires drivers boards etc.

Where is a good scource/scources for the parts needed such as small ball screws, cog belts and pullys, motors encoders and or whatever I may need to do this.

I have spent hours looking at threads on this site for this info, and it's probably there but I don't know what would pertain to what I need for my small machine. Please help. I'll be very greatful for any advice or help I can Get, and would love to do a online step by step article on the buildup of the machine for others to see.

Thanks, Mike Dulian

[email protected]