Perhaps I should introduce myself. After lurking here for nearly a year, purchasing an IH manual mill and later completing the CNC conversion from an IH kit, I finally have some comments and questions for yall. Cruiser, Bob, and Runner have nearly become household names to me, yet you guys have never heard a peep from me, so here I am. Bob, I love your web-blog, keep up the great work. Cruiser, nice work on the belt drive and the z-axis mod. I am located in Bend Oregon, If you ever come over to go skiing, drop me a line, and we can have a beer.

I am an ameture machinist, having had an introduction to machining at Oregon State University (GO BEAVERS!!) where I studied to be a Mechanical Engineer, I now work for Cessna Aircraft here in Bend.
I have many questions to ask/answer, and a lifetime of tooling crashes ahead of me. (shockingly none so far.....crap....well that goofed it up..)

OK, enought rambling. Backlash..... I have approximatly 0.003-0.005 system backlash on my x and y axis, and approximatly 0.010 on my Z. the "backlash" is of course not due to the ballscrews, but rather the torquing of the ball-screw required before the axis slide begins to move and the screw actually begins to turn in the ballnut. I refuse to turn the backlash compensation in Mach on, as the stop-go movements are rather annoying, and certainly don't do any favors to your program run time.
I have set my gibbs so there is approximatly 0.0005 in lateral movement across the joint when the table is forced in-plane. (ie x-axis is pushed in y direction, and the movement at the end of the dovetail is measured with an indicator.)