586,103 active members*
3,318 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > 5 wire Sanyo Denki connection Diagram Needed

5 wire Sanyo Denki connection Diagram Needed

I am a mechanical engg student
    I got a stepper motor of brand Sanyo Denki for our project
    Its got Specifications like
    DC 1.5A .72DEG
    TYPE 103H8582 8044
    Lot No 01817
    Made in Japan
    5 wires I cant find how to get it rotate as i cannot find about 5 wire connections in their website either .Can anybody help me with this?

Quote Originally Posted by Fonfon View Post
    I am a mechanical engg student
    I got a stepper motor of brand Sanyo Denki for our project
    Its got Specifications like
    DC 1.5A .72DEG
    TYPE 103H8582 8044
    Lot No 01817
    Made in Japan
    5 wires I cant find how to get it rotate as i cannot find about 5 wire connections in their website either .Can anybody help me with this?
    thankyou

I was checking a 5-wire stepper out yesterday, and according to my resistance readings, it's like a 6-wire, except the 2 center-taps are tied together. I don't know that you can use a normal 4-wire controller with it. My guess is you'll need to use a 6-wire (Unipolar?) controller. Locate the common ground wire (all the other wires will have their lowest resistance reading when compared with the common), attach the common to the center-tap for one of the phases, and jumper it to the center-tap for the other phase. You'll need to mix-n-match the other 4 wires to the terminals to get proper direction. Keep good notes on which wires you hook up where, and wither the step pattern is correct. Hint: use a truth table. Good luck! It should only be a max of about 12 different combinations, but that's only if you have the worst possible luck and don't get it right until the last try!