586,898 active members*
3,847 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Lead In Lead out Speed Problem

Lead In Lead out Speed Problem

Ok so I'm new to masterCAM as some of you might know. I'm using X3. I was wondering if anyone could help me trouble shooting my contour problem. I know of one solution but there must be a better way. So I draw a line for the contour I want, set up my tool blah blah blah. Now the feed that is used to make the cut of my contour is the same feed used on the lead in lead out path. I thought I could fix this by using the Over Ride Feedrate Option in Contour Parameters and Adjust the length of the contour to be longer by at least half my cutter diameter so i wouldn't smash into my part. I did all this but as some of you might expect my cutter moves at the overriden feed rate on the lengthened portion of the contour. Now I know I could just draw a longer line for my contour so this doens't happen but is there a better way to correct this?
    -JWB
    --We Ain't Building Pianos (TCNJ Baja 2008)

Not sure I understand the question JWB, you could increase the lead in length with the lead in tab in the cut parameters page (no need to extend the contour line length) Do you want the feedrate for the XY leadin to be different from the contour cut feedrate?

Quote Originally Posted by JWB_Machining View Post