586,667 active members*
3,576 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

View Poll Results: Would you employ a Job Corp student?

Voters
289. You may not vote on this poll
  • NO! I have & it was a bad idea.

13 4.50%
  • No, I have heard to many bad things about them.

19 6.57%
  • Yes, I probably would if they seemed employable.

45 15.57%
  • Maybe, It really just depends on the person & the need.

50 17.30%
  • A what? What is this job corp thing?

162 56.06%

Thread: Job Corp?

Page 1 of 2 12

Job Corp?

I'm a student from a Job Corp in utah. I took the machine shop and graduated top of my class. I then started searching for a job. I found my self asking for so very little to do work I was trained in. I hear people talk rather negatively about many Job Corp students and the whole Job Corp program in general. I would like to know what many people think? have you yourself been there or know someone who has? Or, have you ever employed a student from job corp?

What's a Job Corp? Never heard of it.

I'm assuming that it's a US thingy? like a training scheme for those who have approached employment through an unconventional route?

If that's the case then I would certainly employ someone like that, I think it shows initiative and a "self starting" attitude.
    I love deadlines- I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.

For those you out there that are scratching their heads (as I was... lol), here is a little bit of information about Job Corps
    To me it sounds like a decent opportunity for younger people to get into the manufacturing field.

ImanCarrot, when I do hiring, I look at the persons skills. It doesnt matter to me where they got them as long as they can do the job.

Thefixeruper
    I am also in Utah and would absolutely consider employing a job corp grad

Robert