586,477 active members*
3,634 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Questions for a 5x10 build plan

Hello everyone, I'm pretty much a long time listener, first time caller. So where do I start? I have been researching information and looking through the cnczone since Feb/March with interest to build a CNC Plasma table. With everything I've learned (and changed my design/plan numerous times) I still have a few questions. So I'd like to spell out my current design and see if anyone can help me out. I figured this was the right place to ask these questions, then I'll start another thread once I start my actual build. I am in the middle of drafting my table, I will have a complete dwg/dxf created when I'm done and I certainly will make it available to anyone here. I actually design/draft equipment where I work currently, I'm an engineering student somewhere in the middle of finishing up my degree.

So my goal is to start a business mainly utilizing a cnc plasma table. Eventually I plan on not only using the table to create finished product, but also to supply initial parts for a range of other second operations such as press brakes, mills, drills, and welding/fabrication. As a side note, where I work right now has a huge laser cutter that is capable of cutting up to 1/2" mild or stainless. We mainly work with stainless in the fabrication of food processing equipment. I am familiar with utlizing a cnc cutting table to generate parts for further fabrication/machining. If things go well, I hope to be starting to build my table ASAP.

As far as a budget goes, I don't really have one so-to-say. Of course I'm not made of money, but I'm willing to spend, to invest, quite a bit into the table so long as I beleive that I am creating a table of quality that can in turn make me money eventually.