586,414 active members*
3,124 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > Rapid height? Basic router setup help

Question Rapid height? Basic router setup help

Hello all,

I'm new to cnc (completed machine this afternoon). Hope someone can help me out a bit. (bit, wow, I'm a natural at this already)

Seriously, I have built a 24" x 48"(cutting area)router table with Keling 425 oz motors, 4030 drivers, c10 BOB. 10-Tpi Acme leadscrews, rotozip 6amp 33000 tool. Computer is an amd athlon 2.2ghz,512 ram, I have mach3 software. I'm losing steps. Could someone please give me some decent startup settings for the motor tuning? Or a particular sound to listen for from the motors.

Also, I'm trying to figure out the "write" wizard in Mach3. I cannot change the letter dimensions. What do the numbers refer to? Are they in thousandths? What is rapid height? I have already drilled a hole through my table trying to figure this one out. I think I,m losing steps because when I hit return to z after cutting the machine does not go to the home position(mostly z but x a little as well).

Any advice will be greatly appreciated, Jeff

Talking Future career as a CNC comedian?

Quote Originally Posted by Ranscon View Post
    Hello all,

I'm new to cnc (completed machine this afternoon). Hope someone can help me out a bit. (bit, wow, I'm a natural at this already)

Seriously, I have built a 24" x 48"(cutting area)router table with Keling 425 oz motors, 4030 drivers, c10 BOB. 10-Tpi Acme leadscrews, rotozip 6amp 33000 tool. Computer is an amd athlon 2.2ghz,512 ram, I have mach3 software. I'm losing steps. Could someone please give me some decent startup settings for the motor tuning? Or a particular sound to listen for from the motors.