586,364 active members*
3,140 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > tough cutting on 304 Stainless

tough cutting on 304 Stainless

I need help here. It is my first time to machine on S.S material and I have tough time machined on 304 stainless sheet thick (.032), I used diameter .125 flat endmill HHS and ticn, 1100RPM and pass cut per deep .010, use coolant, slower on feed rate .5. I run on ss sheet for profile program and pocket program but the flat endmill broken 3 times again after done 1 part, machined rec shaped about .75 x 1.20 i need to machined and make 9 parts. The flat endmill got chipping on corner edge and uneven. Any suggestion? Did i do something wrong? please let me know. Thanks.

Santi

Use solid carbide.

HSS is hopeless for stainless steel, and so is ticn (IMHO). Use solid carbide.
    I have been using 0.125 flat endmill at 0.015 DOC, 0.5 IPM (max) 3600 rpm.
    If you can't run that fast use 0.15 IPM at 1100 rpm.

You must go really slow, because the side load bends the cutter. I have been going to 6mm deep with that setup. Nothing broke in 10 hours.

For thin things I would just get a dead 1/8" broken very short carbide drill and grind it dead flat on the end.

The dead flat grind is for using the drill for a mill in THIN SHEET.

With the thin sheet I assume you are cutting slots. Easiest to pre-drill a starting hole. At edge of sheet advance at 10% of your normal feed rate until fully engaged both sides. The job supports the side loads.

For thin sheet I just drill through, and then use the drill drill as a milling cutter up near the end of the flutes.
    Lots of flood coolant with soluble oil to clear the chips. The chips will break cutters.

When plunge milling, if you must, you must not ramp down in Z more than about 0.01" per inch. Any more will bust the cutter.
    You need a slot mill grind to achieve this. I just sharpen broken drills for this.