586,283 active members*
3,594 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Newbie

Hi Everyone,
    Just joined this site. Totally new to CNC. I live in Rowville. I have just purchased a used Multicam series IIIS router machine with 5.5hp spindle. Looking forward to putting it through its paces. Have run a few simple jobs. I still get scared of forgetting to set one of the parameters when doing a tool change etc. in case I crash the tool into the bed. Guess that will change with practice. This is a great site with an abundance of info. Hope to talk with some of you soon.

Cheers,
    Chris

Hi Chris. Welcome to the Zone!

I look forward to hearing more from you.

CR.

Thanks

Hi Crevice,
    Thanks for the post. Hopefully I can find somebody in my area to give me some pointers. I have no problem actually running the machine it's just the best way to go about drawing and layout that I am interested in. I have been a metal machinist for 20 years and wanted to get into some sort of CNC. The router seemed like a good option since they can be used for so many applications. I could stand and watch this thing run all day!!

Which part of the US are you from. Do you run a router too? Sorry if you have answered these already somewhere in the forum, I find this place a little difficult to navigate since this is the first time I have been on a site such as this.

Cheers,
    Chris

Hi Chris. I'm in Pennsylvania. I do Steel, not wood, but find the vast diversity of cnc routers fascinating. Can you give us some pics of your new acquisition?

CR.

Pics

Hi Crevice,
    Sure, I will take some snaps tonight and send them through. I don't have a atomiser for coolant on my machine yet so I cannot do aluminium and the like. The company wants $2000 buck for the atomiser attachment. Maybe one day. I have a King Rich milling machine and Colchester lathe already for metal.

Talk soon.
    Cheers,
    Chris

Router

Hi Crevice,