586,260 active members*
2,809 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Finishing

Finishing

Hi

I just bought a Robodrill and am busy evaluating CAM software to use, I was hoping that the truemill paths would greatly increase the milling abilities on this little drill/tap machine however am having problems with finishing. I am used to programming G-Code on lathes as well but this is my first time on a CNC mill.

The process I use is:
    Draw the model in Solid Edge, save.
    Open with Surfcam, works fine.
    Nc-> 3Axis-> Truemill, works wonders, very nice paths and quick.
    Now finishing... hmmmm if using Z-Finish it doesn't work all that well, using 3D offset at .5mm it will clean the whole model if set at 1mm it won't cut all planes unless they fall within the 1mm increment, with it's first plunge it rapids into the left over material.

Also why is it that in the finish modes it doesn't do Arc's but instead a huge amount of fine straight cuts?

Can anyone suggest any good software for the Robodrill?

Thanks,
    Jonathan.

In the operations manager select ArcFltr before you post, and it should generate arcs for you.

Okay thanks, haven't done any posting yet, just noticed this on the simulation.

So far I figured might as well fix it in the code...

FYI I get:
    G0 Z10.
    X-1.527 Y94.969
    Z-14.5
    G1 Z-17.

The Z-14.5 should be Z1.0 or taken out.
    I suppose it isn't the end of the world, just cuious why it does it...

Next step, getting a post for 31i-A5, if anyone has one please Otherwise I'll write one next week when I get the manuals for the machine.

Okay looked at it again, and it is still messing up with finishing...

Oh well, will stick with edgecam then.

Jonathan,