586,437 active members*
3,865 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > 4/5 axis bench mill dreams, so many questions

4/5 axis bench mill dreams, so many questions

Hello everyone,

I have been coming here, reading and dreaming for a long time. I have some electronics background and better than average tech level compuer skills but I am still consider myself to know almost nothing. I purchased a 8X14 HF mini lathe about a year ago and was happy with it for the 450+ shipping I paid.
    About 3 months ago I got a job at a machine shop as a maintaince man. They have not had one for 2+ years so there was all kinds of things to do. I am running machines and learining mastercam X. We do very precision parts, many of them with some tenths tolerances. Titanium and stainless and Al. I really had no buisness getting the job and am having fun. I'v run the CMM LOL. I have my own products to make, so I need my own machines.

So I doubt this all belongs here but here goes.

I have not bough a mill yet. I am looking at the grizzly 519 .
    I want to do a high speed spindle, or higher speed anyway. I also need this to have 4 and 5 axis controls and software. How good can emc get with the right motors and and other goodies? Conjoined rotary tables seems to be the easiest 4/5 axis setup. Is it the best? Does any of this machine control software use true position feedback and corection? like glass scales or ??
    So first thing to go would be the drive motor. What will the limit for these bearings be? I am looking at a 12 grand budget for equipment and control software, this is also the design software budget.

The lathe will be converted to full CNC. Bar puller or pusher is required so must be multi tool capability. Live tooling of some type in the future. I would like to replace the main drive motor with a large servo, like a mori JR or 35/40 z servo? All machine screws will be replaced with ballscrew drives.