586,530 active members*
2,816 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Manufacturing Processes > Milling > New to Mic6 or tooling/cast plate

New to Mic6 or tooling/cast plate

Hello everyone, I’m needing to machine some fixture plates and pallets. Plan is to make a standard base with locating pins and bushings for a simple cheap pallet system.

I’m reading that mic6, or any ground cast aluminum plates, may be the ticket as it’s considered flat and doesn’t warp. I’ve never used it before though. For a base plate, do i need to mill the face flat on my machine at all? Or, do leave surfaces as is and just drill and counterbore holes to bolt to the table, add the pins as necessary, and start stacking plates on it? I would assume leave as is and just counterbore and add pins, no milling the surface, but I’ve never dealt with this stuff before so I’m not sure. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Re: New to Mic6 or tooling/cast plate

typically you'd want to machine both sides to ensure flatness but it also depends on the application . If it's being counterbored and bolted directly to the table then I'd probably just face the top surface . If your planning on having threads into the mic6 then you'll want helicoils or threaded inserts , otherwise threads can strip easy or fracture the plate resulting in big chunks being broken off .
    Ideally , it's worth sending it out for hard anodizing because it is a soft material . It's not necessary but it pays off in the long run if it is in constant use

mcmaster sells some nice locating pins and bushing for this sort of thing https://www.mcmaster.com/products/lo...ating-pins-1~/

Quote Originally Posted by metalmayhem View Post