586,516 active members*
3,791 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > Problems in Mach 3 with End result (Using CAMBAM)

Problems in Mach 3 with End result (Using CAMBAM)

I don’t know exactly if this is where it belongs in the forum, but I’m new to CNCing so bear with me here.

I got a CNC machine (specifically the greenBull) from Build Your CNC, and assembled it all myself. After working out some kinks, the I’ve ran into a series of problems that are seemingly not consistent and therefor I have no idea where to even start looking for a solution. I’ll attach some pictures of the results I’m getting, it seems randomly translated in either y or x. There’s no slipping of the couplings on the axis (I checked). The zero is the same. And the problem almost always occurs when there’s multiple processes involved in the same program.

Any help is appreciated!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_4394.jpg  

Re: Problems in Mach 3 with End result (Using CAMBAM)

Hi,
    there are two possibilities, excluding mechanical slippage.
    1) Electrical noise inducing extra steps
    2) Missing steps.

The later is more likely. If a stepper is marginally overloaded, and that is by far and away most prevalent at speed its common for a stepper to either miss or gain an extra step.
    Over a short period of time you get very distorted results such as you have posted. It gets worse as time goes on.

Craig

Quote Originally Posted by joeavaerage View Post
    Hi,
    there are two possibilities, excluding mechanical slippage.
    1) Electrical noise inducing extra steps
    2) Missing steps.

The later is more likely. If a stepper is marginally overloaded, and that is by far and away most prevalent at speed its common for a stepper to either miss or gain an extra step.
    Over a short period of time you get very distorted results such as you have posted. It gets worse as time goes on.

Craig