586,378 active members*
2,771 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Rhino 3D > Boolean difference failed

Boolean difference failed

Hi all,
    I'm pretty new to Rhino. In fact, i'm pretty new to everything that is 3D related...

I'm trying to make the design of a wing mold. What i've done is:
    -draw the wing outline
    -draw the airfoil (in fact, import it from a .dxf file)
    -join the airfoil so it's a single curve
    -"sweep 2 rails", being the airfoil the cross section and the wing curves the rails

Then, i want to make a cube, then substract the wing from it so i have a mold.

I draw the box, then try to make the "solid"-->"difference".
    Then i have some troubles.
    I have tried it 3 times. It only worked the first time. As it succeful, i tried to do some renders... while it was rendering, i tried to play some music and my pc freezed; i had to close everything.
    when i reopen Rhino, the file had not been saved, so i had to do the "sweep 2 rails", then the cube and try to make the difference between wing and cube, BUT all i got is a message that claims "Boolean difference failed"

Any thoughts about what happens and how to solve it?
    Kind regards,
    Chets
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails try to mold 1.JPG   try to mold 2.JPG   try to mold 3.JPG  

Boolean operations work best when the object being union/subtracted is a SOLID. Solids are fully enclosed surfaces, with no holes. You can check if an object is a solid by selecting it, then using the ANALYZE_MASS PROPERTIES_VOLUME function. That will tel you if the surface is open or closed (surface or solid)
    You should try to use the CAP PLANER HOLES function to close up the ends of that wings before trying to boolean, or (if the ends are not planar) split it with some rectangular surfaces, then cap the ends.
    Also, without some kind of intersection between the objects (touching each other), the boolean operations will not work.