587,019 active members*
3,932 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Building Router Table

I AM A NEW USER LOOKING FOR GUIDANCE ON BUILDING A PC BASED SYSTEM THAT IS EAZY TO RUN AND INTERACT WITH OTHER SOFTWARE.

I HAVE MANY ?

I WANT TO END UP WITH A HIGH TORQUE SYSTEM (1000 OZ) WITH 5-6 AXIS OF CONTROL, BUT WILL START WITH A SIMPLE 3 AXIS SYSTEM (HOPEFULLY THAT IS EXPANDABLE).

I HAVE LOOKED AT MANY DIFFERENT MONTION CONTROL SYSTEMS AND I AM CONFUSED ON WERE TO BEGIN.

THE MAJOR PROBLEM IS HOW DO I MATCH UP THE CONTROL - DRIVER - MOTORS?

I HAVE READ IN THIS FORUM THAT HIGH VOLT - LOW AMP MOTORS ARE BETTER.

P.S. THE PRO BUILDERS IS MY BUSINESS NAME SINCE I AM A BUILDER AND ONBODY CAN PRONOUCE MY LAST NAME. NOT TO BE COINCIDED.

MO is that montana. If so what part.
    If it was me i would use nema 34 motors and a 2 to 1 gear reduction thu a timing belt. Use gecko 201 microstepping drives or wait for the new Gecko Vampire drive. Use mach2 to control it. It has the abiltity to run 6 axis. Then pick up a power supply off e-bay. You can sometimes get them for $50 to $100 from the telcom industry. I had 2 nice ones given to me for free. Now I have a spair. To bad they are over 200lbs each. Get a cambel breakout board then your good to go on the electronics.
    As for the table you did'nt mention size or need for rigitiy. Sure there are guys here with more knowlege than I that will point you in the right direction based on your needs.

Donny

THANK FOR THE INPUT!!!

I HAVE VIEWED http://www.artofcnc.ca/product.html SITE AND THE MACH 2 PRODUCT. IT LOOKS TO BE ABOUT EVERTHING, HOWEVER THERE ARE NO PICTURES OF THE PRODUCT. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND IF IT IS A PCB MONTION CONTROLL CARD OR A SOFTWARE PROGRAM?

IF IT IS ONLY THE SOFTWARE SIDE DO I STILL NEED A MOTION CONTROLL CARD OR NOT?

THANKS AGIAN FOR AN HELP

SORRY IT IS MISSOURI NOT MONTANA

THANKS AGAIN

Hit the caps lock key once