586,149 active members*
3,583 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > OneCNC > easy for some,

easy for some,

Hi,

I own a small company in Australia and we're about to invest in a second hand VMC for prototyping and for some small machined parts that we out source at the moment. I have a background in machining (10 years, mostly lathe when I was a youngster). And in the more recent time I've had some involvement with cad design. Mostly Rhino. I have designed a handful of composite moulds that have been machined with good results. The part that I have no experience with is CAM (the important bit I hear you say).

I have been playing with the demo version of Mill Professional XR-2. Because there will be some 3D work I think this may be the package that we go for.

I have a couple of the most simple questions around I think. The tutorials available don't seem to come down to the level that I find myself at. Please have a look at the model attached. I think I would go for a pocket tool path on this piece but I just can't seem to get it to work. Also why is it that when I import Rhino closed curves they are in pieces on OneCNC?

I'd be happy if someone could steer me in the right direction. If there are some more detailed tutorials somewhere that would be great too.

Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

Try this file. For some reason it didn't like the boundary curve for the rectangular pocket so I just extracted a few of the edges and it seems happier. Onecnc breaks up complex curves like your 8 segment polycurve into lines and arcs like the controller will use to cut the part. I do a lot with models from Rhino and they import with good results.

I have no idea how you are going to clamp the part so the profile toolpath probably needs to have the entry/exit adjusted etc.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thanks RandK,