586,189 active members*
3,837 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

interpolation

Hi, I'm still a beginner, same as last week, but I've moved on from trying to figure out what the SloSyn single axis controllers were capable of to a more general question: how do current controllers handle interpolation?

e.g. how does a command like this:

G02 X1.8206 Y.5364 R18.7759

get executed in the case of dual controllers, one per axis? If there are as many answers as there are controllers capable of interpolated motion, then the next question would be, what works best and why?

-Dave

Most people here use systems with a software controller capable of handling multiple simultaneous axis moves. For example, use Mach2 ( http://www.artofcnc.ca ) , load in your g-code file, and Mach2 will output step and direction signals for up to 6 axis of movement. Each motor has a driver, one example of which would be the Gecko ( http://www.geckodrive.com ) which takes these step and direction signals and supplies current to the motors. To use your single axis controller, you'd need software to interpret the g-code, do the interpolation, and send that info to each controller. I doubt if this software exists.

The easiest thing to do would be to use either Mach2 or TurboCNC, and get some drivers that take step and direction signals to run your motors. Any other way is much more complicated, and you'd be pretty much on your own, in my opinion.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)