586,123 active members*
3,448 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

TECO FM100 Help?!?!

I have a TECO FM100 2 horsepower, 7.5 amp, ac inverter powering my Supermax handmill.
    Single phase power into the inverter, three phase power to my mills motor.
    It's a 2 horse power, 3 phase, 5.6 amp, 1720 rpm, Taiwanese motor on a step pulley head.
    My problem is the inverter alarms out frequently and must be reset. The most prevalent alarms are OC-D , and OC-C.

OC-D = Overcurrent during decel
    OC-C = Overcurrent during constant speed

For the OC-D I have extended the decel time from 10. (defualt setting) to
    40. without much luck. For the OC-C the manual says to check the load condition and or install a reactor between the power supply and the inverter.
    I'm a machinist not a electronics guy, so I'm not sure what load condition or
    what's a reactor?

All I know is, it runs great, changes RPM ranges well, has never stalled or
    alarmed when running, but after the motor has been stopped and I go to
    start it up again I get an alarm. Probably alarms once out of every dozen
    times, sometimes more sometimes less.
    Any advise will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Ben

Ben,
    I have a FM-100 on a 2HP motor and have had none of what you are experiencing.
    Just a wild guess, but when you hooked up the single phase 220 to it, did you hook to L1 and L2? Seems I remember seeing that caution in the instructions.

Also, have you used large enough wire both for the single phase and 3 phase?

As stated, these are just wild guesses.
    Art
    AKA Country Bubba (Older Than Dirt)

Maybe the characteristics of your particular motor, A reactor is a three phase choke placed between the VFD and the Motor.
    Many transformer manuf. will supply them, I used to get from Hammond.
    Does the VFD have auto tuning? If so that may help.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design