586,138 active members*
3,380 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Made it, but will it work?

I've bought the wire/foam and made a jig to cut a pattern for a cast iron, cannon axle box. Basically a hollow truncated cone 14" long.

The foam turning part gets clamped to the mill bed, the wire gets clamped to the pillar. I plan to drill a hole through the foam so I can cut the inside once the outside is done. Sounds easy, probably isn't because I have never tried hot wire cutting before

You experienced foam cutters have probably already seen where this will go hideously wrong, so please, help a body out before I switch it on tomorrow

My big concern is what happens when it finishes the internal cut and the foam comes free, would simple finger pressure be enough to move it away from the wire so i don't burn a groove up the inside

OTOH, perhaps that is the least of my worries. Why won't it work?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails wire.jpg  

The problem is it cuts too deep when I get back to where I started, good enough though

If the core is rotating can you mount the unit in such a way that the wire is central below the cylinder? That way gravity should allow it to fall free then you can stop the current to the wire.
    Paul

Hi Paul

Not easy without lying the machine down

I don't know if the wire isn't much too hot, I wired it into the suds pump which drives 6-30 volts DC and put a 30W automotive bulb in the circuit to give me something to push against. If I had an optimum temperature in watts I could measure the voltage drop across the wire. I'm using a 30 gauge Nichrome wire at 14 ohms per meter.

Width of cut seems to depend on feed speed, but is that normal or a symptom? If I take a fine cut the foam seems to close the gap, grab the wire and bend it alarmingly. I don't think that's happenning when I go deep.

I don't know if the wire tension is right, just used a convenient spring.