586,089 active members*
3,871 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Yet another new guys intro / beginner project
Page 1 of 2 12

Smile Yet another new guys intro / beginner project

Well, I've made a post here and there, but I thought that I'd make an official intro to everyone today.

My name is Kevin, I'm a 25 year old firefighter/paramedic, and I have alot of time off between shifts. Woodworking/CAD/CNC all used to be major loves of mine, but after high school I decided that I wanted to get into this field to help people.

As far as my project goes, I am building basically a clone of Yukonho's Project. I am making some design modifications and alterations to suit my space the machine will be going in my garage and my budget. On that note, as far as the budget goes, I have very little. I have a 5 month old daughter that takes alot of my budget so.....I am going to be cutting corners here and there to take some off of the cost. I am going to need a lot of help on the electrical aspect of things, I am going to try to make my own stepper boards and electronics from parts I can scrap/find/or aquire cheap.

I just got my hands on 5 dot matrix printers, 3 are the same (IBM ProPrinter II), an Epson Action Printer 5000+, and (Oops, just noticed the fifth was actually an old fax machine...). I am hoping to maybe scrap some of the parts from these, mainly the motors and slides for the z axis.

I'm going to play this out kind of as a real time, step-by-step, learn as I go and I really look forward to user interaction on your part. I will be the first to admit I'm as new as it gets, and from reading around there is alot of knowledge here to go around.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IM1.jpg  

Motors seem ok???

After getting the first one apart, I am left with the power supply, the circuit board, a bunch of assorted rods, and...........

Sanyo Step-Syn Stepping Motor