586,475 active members*
3,393 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New guy needing help please...

Hi -

I am new to welding. I have been reading some books and figure I would buy a cheap hobby type arc welder and practice. Once I get the feel and understand it better, then I would get something I really want.

I ended up getting a Campbell Hausfel Arc Welder 115v 70amp welder.
    It came with electrodes with this written on them - 308/308L 16

How do I know what electrode to use for what kind of material?

I want to have the ability to weld aluminum and steal. Which rods are for what?

Also what would be the best cleaning method?

Thanks in adavce...
    Please check out my CNC blog
    http://cncinside.com

Generally, this welder is only good for welding very thin mild steel. I had one similar to that about 8 years ago I picked up at a garage sale. I think the thickest I could easily weld was .125 plate. The machines duty cycle would generally kick in within about 5 minutes of welding.

I am not aware of a amuminum stick welding process, generally SMAW is designed for ferrous metals like mild steel, iron, and even stainless.

For most mild steel, you should stick with a 6011 or 6013 rod. I believe Miller has some excellent tutorials on electrode part numbers and their usage.
    http://www.millerwelds.com/education/library.html
    some electrodes are designed for overhead welding, some for any/all positions, etc. They come in different thicknesses, designed for different materials and amperages.
    I think the best luck I had with my old CH stick welder was buying the rods from Wal Wart, they were 6013 rods in a 1/16" thickness. The thinner the rod, the better my machine would burn into the metal. Using the same 6013 or 6011 rod in a 1/8" diameter would barely burn into the metal.
    Hope this helps a little. There should also be a guide that came with the welder that will give some guidance as to the best consumables to use.