586,430 active members*
4,043 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie Questions...

Ok I am totally new to cnc. I have been around metal working for over 5 years and have been running my own welding business for almost a year. I'm doing mostly mobile welding, but and working on setting up a shop. I want to have a cnc setup for anything from custom furniture parts to offroad brackets. I'm not looking to spend a ton of money. I'm not sure if I should go plasma or waterjet. Is there any kits out there that would come with everything I need but for the laptop and table. I can build the table myself. Thanks for the help.

For the cnc plasma kits, you can check with Dynatorch, torchmate, Dynacnc. They supply the machine in kits form.
    I don't know any one can supply cnc waterjet in kits. This machine require precision motion and not easy to assemle by your own. The water pump and other parts also not cheap.

Joe
    AC Meca

There is a quantum leap in difference in doing plasma and waterjet. First you need a 40,000 to 60,000 PSI pump for abrasive waterjet. Those size pumps are not cheap or small. You need LOT's of HP (electricity 3 phase 480) to run something like that. If you have that solved then you need to deal with the water and mess the process makes.

Plasma is messy but you don't have to worry about liquids (except maybe the water going stagnant in the water tank under the torch!)

If you are handy with mechanical stuff but need some help with the electronics, contact me off list (don't use the private messages in this list unless you include a real e-mail I can reply to) and I have a new years surprise I can share with you (:-)

Tom Caudle (aka Torchhead)
    www.CandCNC.com