586,426 active members*
3,182 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > newbie servo controller questions

newbie servo controller questions

Hello Everyone,

I recently purchased an XYZ table which I an converting into a small CNC Mill.

This unit was built by CyberTron, but they have not responded to any e-mail inquiries. Each slide has a 15 pin connector and I need advice on connecting these to a servo controller. I am new to the world of CNC and am unsure on how to test the servo motors.

Is there a webpage that explains CNC and servos for newbies? For instance, I'd like to know if a stepper motor can be controlled by a servo controller and vice versa. And will any servo controller be compatible with any servo motor? Is there a standard interpertation for the coloring of servo wires?

Any help and information on how to get this unit powered and running would be appreciated.

MJT
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PC110011.JPG   PC110010.JPG   PC110008.JPG  

you have to open up the connectors to see how many wires there are pr motor. Normaly there is 4-5-6 wires depending on what type of motor

12 wires!

Thanks Larsjo,

Actually, there are 12 wires per connection, some of these are connected to the encoder.
    What I need is a tutorial or advice on how to determine wire connections for servo motors and encoders. Any advice on servo driver kits would also be appreciated...

Mark
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P1230003.JPG   ServoConnect1.JPG